Review: Stonemouth (S1 E2/2), Thursday 18th June, BBC2

Standard

Programme Name: Stonemouth - TX: n/a - Episode: n/a (No. 2) - Picture Shows:  Don (PETER MULLAN), Fraser (KEVIN MAINS) - (C) BBC - Photographer: Graeme HunterThe second part of this adaptation of Iain Banks’s penultimate novel needed to be better than the first. Of that there’s no doubt. I do have to put my hands up and admit that I got something wrong in my review of that first instalment¬†– I said that episode hadn’t revealed why Stewart Gilmore (Christian Cooke) had been run out of Stonemouth, incurring the wrath of the town’s number one gang boss Don Murston (Peter Mullen on extreme gravel-voiced form). While Stewart was boffing one of his old school friends in the toilets at his friend’s wedding, I decided to go to the loo myself (for a wee, not a knee-trembler) and of course missed Big Don throwing him out of town. I just wanted to clear that up, especially one of my main criticisms was based on the fact that Stewart’s expulsion had never been properly explained. D’oh. Blame my chest infection. Anyway, now onto episode two. Continue reading

True Detective’s Nic Pizzolatto: I write best about people whose souls are on the line

Standard

Nic_Pizzolatto_Embed_Four copy

Nic Pizzolatto has made a bit of a name for himself. After writing a critically acclaimed novel (Galveston), he then graduated to TV, where he was part of the writing team on the US version of The Killing, and then the short-lived gangster drama, Magic City. He hit paydirt with True Detective, where his decidedly auteur-style approach to writing came to the fore – no large writing rooms there. Now the second series of True Detective is upon us, Pizzolatto has given a fascinating interview with Vanity Fair, and I really wanted to share some of his quotes with you,¬†if only because I find any strong auteur fascinating and worth listening to. Think David Milch, think Dennis Potter and think, more recently, Mad Men’s Matthew Weiner. All figureheads of singular, uncompromising¬†vision. Some of Pizzolatto’s quotes are after the jump… Continue reading