Magnum PI sequel on the cards

Standard

magnum3They ay there’s nothing new under the sun, and once again Hollywood proves this phrase to true. Back in the early 80s, when I was in my formative years, I used to tape TV themes into my little tape recorder. TV in the UK was full of US imports, like Quincy and The A-Team, and another that was popular was Magnum PI, and as an impressionable young feller, I bloody loved it – the Hawaiin setting, TC!, helicopters, Higgins and MOUSTACHES. And eyebrows. Looking back at it now, it wasn’t that good, but still, it was a classic of its time. Now news reaches me that a sequel might be on the cards.

This, according to Deadline:

A famous 1980s title is eyeing a comeback. ABC has nabbed Magnum,a sequel to the classic series Magnum P.I. that starred Tom Selleck, with a script commitment plus substantial penalty. The project, from Leverage creator John Rogers and Eva Longoria’s UnbeliEVAble Entertainment, will keep the fun, action-packed style of the original as it follows Magnum’s daughter, Lily “Tommy” Magnum, who returns to Hawaii to take up the mantle of her father’s PI firm. She and her tribe of friends mix tropical beaches with the seedy underbelly of international crime and modern espionage, even as she tries to unravel the mystery of the blown spy operation that ended her career in Navy Intelligence.

More news as we get it…

2 thoughts on “Magnum PI sequel on the cards

  1. Oh I don’t know.

    You say it wasn’t that good, but from what I remember it had a layer of sophistication carefully hidden under floral shirts and those awesome eyebrows.

    The most interesting things were said during Magnum’s narrations at the beginning of some of the episodes.

    I remember him quoting Thomas Wolfe (not Tom Wolfe) about ‘You can’t go home again’.

    This stuck in my head for a decade or more until I did find a whole series of Wolfe’s books at the Hillingdon library and went through them all. A total literary genius, now completely out of fashion.

    Besides that of course, there were helicopters, astounding women in bikinis, and that Ferrari (which skewered any young persons taste in cars forever).

    I hope it isn’t, but I suspect the sequel will be trite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

