Paula Hawkins’ Into The Water is Radio 4’s Book At Bedtime; all episode now available

Paul Hawkins needs no real introduction to crime fiction fans. But anyway… Paula is the author of the global phenomenon The Girl on the Train, which sold millions globally and was adapted for a big-screen version starring Emily Blunt. Now Paula returns – it must be extremely difficult to follow up such a huge success – with a new book, called Into the Water, another psychological suspense thriller. Not only is it out there to buy, but you can now listen to it on the radio, thanks to BBC Radio 4’s Book At Bedtime strand.

The second episode will air tonight, but all 10 episodes are now available to listen to vis the BBC iPlayer. Which is nice.

In The Water tells the story of a single mother, who turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.

Left behind is a lonely fifteen-year-old girl. Parentless and friendless, she now finds herself in the care of her mother’s sister, a fearful stranger who has been dragged back to the place she deliberately ran from a place to which she vowed she’d never return.

The voice cast is seriously impressive: Siân Brooke, Lily Loveless, Arthur Darvill, Lynda Baron, Bryan Dick, Elizabeth Berrington, Natasha Little, Sarah Ridgeway, Kai Alexander and Sean Baker.

So, worth a listen, then. Here’s a link to the BBC iPlayer page: click here.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.